Webforms

Would you like to create forms which anyone can see on the internet, even if they are not registered to your Gryffin account?

These forms use your Workspace as a template, and when users fill out the information, the data goes straight into Gryffin as a new project, kicking on the workflow automatically. Think of all the time saved when you can have users entering data that goes straight into your database!

How do Webforms work?

Webfoms are connected to your workspaces. You need to go to your workspace configuration page to activate webforms, configure what fields people see, and to get the shareable URL.

Setting up your Webforms

Go to Admin > Workspaces and select the workspace that will be used for your webform, and click on “Configure”. Next, click on “Webforms” From the configuration menu.

Start by Enabling your webform.

You will see a preview of what the webform will look like, with the ability to customize it on the right hand side.

Clicking on “Choose Workspace Fields” opens up a list of the fields that belong to this workspace.

From here you can select what fields are visible when people view the webform.

You can further customize your form by enabling or disabling attachments, customizing the Title and Description of the form, Adding Spam Protection, and changing the text of the Button that people use to submit.

Finally, you’ll want to select what workflow will be used when people submit your form. Since a workspace can have multiple workflows, it’s important for you to select a worfklow so that new entries can immediately be tasked to a team member.

All you have to do is send users the Shareable link, and they can enter info that goes straight into your workspace. Here’s an example of what a recruitment form might look like:

For each of your workspaces, you can customize and enable your webform and share your links with the world.

Advanced Permissions

When you create a new company in Gryffin, you automatically become the Admin for that company.

A company admin gets access to EVERYTHING. The company admin sees all workspaces, invoices, reports, and everything else belonging to that company.

Gryffin has layer upon layer of granularity to control what users see based on their user role, team, workspace settings, and dozens of other factors.

Let’s start by talking about User Roles, the first layer of visibility control.

What Roles are Available?

The main roles at Gryffin are:

  • Admin: Can create workspaces, groups, invite users, control visibility, reporting, etc.  Admin users have control over all the features, setup, and functionality of the company’s Gryffin installation.
  • Manager: A manager can see everything and do everything, but by default, can only see their own project expenses and invoices, and cannot see other users project expenses or invoices.
  • User: Has complete visibility over all workspaces and tasks. Users cannot create new workspaces and have limitations over admin features.
  • Client: By default, clients are external users not intrinsic to the operations of the company, who need access or visibility to projects assigned to them as “clients” or as part of a “team”.   By default, they only see projects assigned to them.

The user who creates the company by default is considered an admin, and that user can invite others selecting the user role when the invitation is sent.

This chart highlights the default visibility settings based on user roles:

These default permissions can be changed by the company admin within the Admin > Company > Teams tab.

How do Team Permissions work?

Start by creating a new team. Go to Admin > Company > Teams:

Next, select what users or workspaces belong to that team:

If you assign a user to a team, and a workspace, that user will be able to see everything belonging to that workspace.

Next, click on the tab called “Permissions” to assign specific limitations to users belonging to that team:

If you click on the sections for “Projects”, “Tasks”, “Chat”, etc you will be able to determine what users that are members of this team can see and do. For example, you can restrict them to only seeing their own projects, and not being able to create or delete new projects.

Perhaps you want members of a team to only see the projects and tasks for other members of the same team? Or maybe you only want them to see projects assigned to them, or tasks assigned to them?

Play with these settings to get very granular about what team cohorts can do and see within Gryffin.

How do I restrict project visibility by teams?

If you’d like to have projects that only members of a given team can see, you can modify your workspace to add a “Team” field. Select your workspace, and from the top right, click on “Configure Workspace” and then click on “Templates”.

Next, click on the “Team” field, and drag it to the right hand column:

Finally, click on “save”, and this will have modified your template to include a “Team” field.

When you go back to your workspace, and click on an individual project or create a new project, you’ll see the team field:

If you assign a particular team, and then select specific visibility settings from within Admin > Company > Teams, you’ll be able to keep very granular control of your visibility settings. In this case, you can have all members of a team see the projects that this team has assigned to it.

You can later see a listing of all projects belonging to that team by clicking on the arrow in any project:

The “Team” page will look like this:

If there are multiple projects assigned to a team, they will all show up under the “Team” listing.

Finally, if you do NOT want other users to see these projects, you can create a new team and restrict their visibility to “Projects” and “Can see own”, and this way they will not see projects assigned to other team members.

How do Workspace Permissions work?

There are 2 active permissions at the workspace level:

Workspace Visibility

At the workspace level, you can choose if a workspace is Private, Public or Restricted:

A public workspace can be seen by everyone in the company, a private workspace can be seen only by the admins, and a restricted workspace can be seen only by users or teams invited:

If there is a specific user who should be able to see the workspace, or a specific team, this is the fastest way to guarantee their visibility.

Field Visibility

Not only can you control what workspaces or projects are seen, you can also restrict what fields within a project a user sees.

By clicking on the “Permissions” tab, an admin can select which fields will be seen, edited, or hidden by different user roles:

If you click on Edit users can edit every field. Read means they can see the field, but cannot edit. Hide means that users will NOT see the field.

On the right side, you’ll see “Choose Widgets”. If you want your users to be able to see emails, tasks, milestones, files etc this is where you can control the other features of the Project Hub.

This level of granularity can enable you to truly limit and restrict how different users and team members interact with your installation of Gryffin.

How does Project Visibility work?

If you create a team, and set the team visibility permissions to “own” or “team”, users will only see projects assigned to them, or to the team they belong to. If you want a user to see a specific project, you can add them to a user field, or assign them permissions to a specific project:

From here, you can share access with a user or team:

As you become more familiar and comfortable with Gryffin’s Advanced Permissions, you’ll be able to create unlimited teams to gain complete control over exactly what is seen by every user belonging to your company.

Send a Message