Controlling User Permissions
When you create a new company in Gryffin, you automatically become the Admin for that company. You can then invite users as Admin, Users, or Clients.
What Users and Clients see in Gryffin is defined by the Admin. A company access gets access to EVERYTHING. The company admin sees all modules, invoices, reports, and everything else belonging to the company.
That same admin can control and define what Users or Clients see.
How to Define what Users See
To invite users, go to Admin > Company.
Here, you can add the email address of the users you wish to invite, and select their role as users, admins or clients. You could also simply send them the link, with User Type pre-selected as the role.
The user will receive an invitation to their email:
Or if they follow the link, they’ll be taken to the account creation wizard.
Next, you will need to determine what Users see for each Workspace.
Go to Admin > Modules, and click on a Workspace. Next, click on the Visibility icon.
Here’s where you can control what each user sees.
If you click on Write users can edit every field. Read means they can see the field, but cannot edit. Hide means that users will NOT see the field.
You can have a combination of Write, Read, and Hide for each workspace.
On the right side, you’ll see “Choose Widgets”. If you want your users to be able to see emails, tasks, milestones, files etc this is where you can control the other features of the Project Hub.
You can create a custom Visibility setting for each user type: User, Client and Admin for each workspace.
Can I limit the projects that a User sees in a Workspace?
When you invite a user as a client, you will have to assign them to a specific client account. Thereafter, that user will only see items that have a Client type field in the workspace, and who are assigned to that specific client.
In a workspace, a client field may be called anything, but most will identify it as client. When creating a workspace, this is the client field:
This is what it looks like when it’s live:
For a “Client” user to see projects, they need to be assigned to the same client, then they will see projects that are assigned to that client.
In addition, clients will only see their own tasks and chats where they are given permission. When you create a new chat, click on the key, and then add the name of the client who you are interested in giving visibility permissions.
Now you can control every field, widget, and chat on your project hub, as well as at the level of projects.